Plastic bags forbidden in 2011!

Posted on December 25, 2010

0


Dear Aquatics Circus of Rome,

This is just like Cirque Du Soleil but crazier because there is water involved too. I found something similar and posted a YouTube video. This show was aimed more at children but the adults are more impressed by the flexibility and strength of the performers. Well I am anyway. Those one-armed poses and bending over backwards! One chick seriously held FIVE other people all by herself on her own two buff legs. I want that job haha! Very different compared to the one I have seen back at home in that there are cocktails being pushed not cotton candy and popcorn.

What a Christmas day. We went to bed so late last night I felt exhausted most of the afternoon, especially after hand-made tortolini for lunch! I didn’t even really go into detail about dinner and the entire extravaganza of last night so I can share more tonight… It was a very traditional Christmas Even Dinner consisting of only fish and white wines to drink. I even gave octopus a try finally! I don’t hate it. But I don’t love it either. We kicked off the night with some Prosecco and some fried vegetables and fish. Then went on to some lovely Italian white wines throughout the first, second and third course. We must have finally had dolce  and fresh fruit after 10pm. We began eating maybe around 7 so it was quite the dinner. The gathering was not very many, not like I am used to on Christmas Eve back at home. There were 7 adults 3 kids under 12 and a brand new one month old baby named Carina. She was so sweet and such a peaceful little angel. I only heard her fuss when she had to burp! She fell asleep with me for a while which always feels amazing when a newborn lies on your chest and breathes so soft.

By the time that Santa came we were all running out of fuel for the night. The dolce sugar rush came and went for me. Santa had on dark sunglasses and an extra pillow for a belly! He came through the front door so fast S yelled it was a robbery! I laughed so hard I almost fell off my chair. All the lights were out and Santa handed out the gifts to the children each by name. I learned later that Matteo is still not that comfortable around Santa and gives his Papa the death grip the entire time that Santa is in the house. He half hides behind his father and grips his hand til it is over. Since it was so dark I didn’t sense the terror in his eyes! Later I was pleased that Santa even brought me that Rome guide-book. The Nana also gave me a carved wooden owl clothesline pin after she told me that my hair was beautiful!

I forgot to mention the other day that I learned that plastic bags will be forbidden in the coming New Year. Come January 1st, 2011, they will no longer be handed out at any stores. Everyone must supply their own or purchase appropriate ones from said store. I think that this is extremely a positive movement. I am excited to be a part of this change and witness this in the coming weeks.

Glad Christmas is finally over. To a great New Year…and my birthday soon!

Lex

Posted in: When in Rome