Horsing Around is NOT Easy…!

Posted on August 16, 2011

0


Dear Horse-Riding,

I have not been on a horse in over 10 years…I think that I was maybe 9 years old the one and only time before today! My giant horse’s name was something like “Vizeer” I have no idea what it means or how to spell it but that is the best written way I can think of. I think that my butt will hurt pretty good tomorrow once I wake up! “Trotting” is NOT easy..they make it seem so easy but I felt like a mad cocktail shaker on a bumpy roller coaster! I was the drink and the horse was the ride. I had a hell of a time trying to figure out how to hold the reins correctly (NOT pulling them because that would make him STOP..yet figure out how to hold on while using my legs!) I was told once or twice that I have very strong legs…NOT strong enough for this! I don’t think that my balance is right. YET, I am giving it another chance this Thursday before we go back to Rome. We did get some nice snap shots of me and it turned out to be a glorious day but I still think that the funniest part was when we rode back in a young kid helped me “park” my horse and asked if I needed help getting down. He explained that getting off the horse was “just like getting off a bike!” I laughed and said, “ummm THIS is a REALLY BIG “bike!” and he laughed too. But more like laughed AT me. All in all it was a lot of fun to go off alone with a bunch of kids. Easily, I was “old” compared to these children in our group ride. I believe that Tommaso will take a “walk” with me and the group Thursday while his little brother has his lesson. Although horses might be the most stinky animals I have encountered I am still very much interested in riding better…I might even want to ride in other places once I become “better”  and more confident. That is all for now…I need to rest just in case I do feel worthless tomorrow!!!

Lex

Posted in: When in Rome